Movin’ on Up. Big Girl Bed: Take 1

26 May

So we’re reaching that time in our parental walk where we must seriously think about moving Madilyn to a “big girl bed”.  You know how it goes:  You walk into your sweet, innocent little girl’s room and she’s dangling from the side of the crib.  Yeah.  I had visions of her toppling over the side and onto her sweet little head, cracking it wide open on our…um…cheap carpet for about 24 hours before I decided that something needed to change.

The crib that we bought was supposed to be able to convert to a toddler bed but we didn’t know that we had to buy the conversion kit at that time.  Unfortunately it isn’t made anymore, so that’s where we arenow.  Do we buy her a toddler bed or do we buy her a single bed so that she can grow into it?  Styles was in a toddler bed before he ever went to a single but here are the problems I have with that now:

1. I’d have to buy a toddler bed.

2.  I’d also have to eventually buy her a bigger bed and a single mattress which just means more money in the long run.

3.  I’d have to buy Grady a crib mattress so that Madilyn could use her current mattress in the toddler bed.

4.  Toddler beds aren’t always the most sophisticated-looking things.  I’d like something that matches her room:  

5.  Moving her from crib to toddler bed is going to be difficult enough.  Do I really want to go through the transition again once she outgrows a toddler bed?

The things that make you go Hmmmmm….

The cons of buying her a single bed now instead of later are:

1.  I’d have to buy bed rails so that she doesn’t fall out

2.  I’d also have to buy a single mattress for the larger bed frame

The pros of having a single bed now instead of later are:

1.  We move beds ONE time.

2.  I can get something pretty that will match her room for a long time

3.  Grady can use Madilyn’s current crib mattress when he eventually goes to his own crib.

4.  Madilyn gets a brand spanking new single mattress!

OK.  Thank you for letting me talk that out.  My decision has been made.  We’ll get Madilyn a Big-girl single bed as opposed to a toddler bed.  In the long run, we will spend a lot less money.  I desperately want to get her something that she will not only grow into, but something sophisticated that matches her cute room.  This little bed is so sweet and would go GREAT with Madilyn’s current ivory furniture:

I’m sad to take her out of her crib.  It means she’s growing up and becoming more independent.  I also do NOT look forward to the up and down & playing around when she should be sleeping, but it’s just one of the many joys of parenthood, right?  I’ll be sure to keep you posted on how the transition goes.  I’m certain it will be story-worthy.

Do you have any tips for moving your child from a crib to a bigger bed?  Or any funny stories to share?  I’d love to hear them!

Disclosure:  This was a sponsored post. However, all opinions are 100% my own.

2 Responses to “Movin’ on Up. Big Girl Bed: Take 1”

  1. 1001petals May 28, 2011 at 8:30 pm #

    I got the idea from one of my Montessori books and did it with my daughter, and am about to do it with my son — which is to put the mattress right on the floor. That way you don’t have to worry about them falling off. It doesn’t look half bad on a rug, all dressed up with a pillow and nice bedding. Then, when they’re a bit older, just put it in a bed frame.

    V actually has a toddler bed, but it extends to a twin bed. Even the mattress (from Ikea) extends. It comes in multiple pieces.

    • Summer May 30, 2011 at 9:15 pm #

      Thanks for the idea! Then you wouldn’t have to worry about them falling out! How did you keep your daughter contained in her room when you switched her from crib to bed?

Leave a Reply

