My Favorite Breakfast: Cinnamon-Maple Quinoa

18 May

This is my absolute FAVORITE breakfast.  It is adapted from Jessica Seinfeld’s book, “Double Delicious”.  The premise of the book is that Jessica uses vegetable purees to hide in food to make it more healthy and to help you get your daily dose of vegetables in all their vitamin- and mineral-packed goodness.

Before I share the recipe, I’d like to tell you all how much my family and I LOVE this cookbook.  It is absolutely amazing.  I have made every single lunch/dinner recipe and a few of the breakfasts.  I have also made some of the desserts that YES, have vegetable purees in them.  My husband still doesn’t believe to this day that the Cherries Jubilee Brownies had spinach in them.  OH YES THEY DID!  Styles absolutely despises vegetables, especially cauliflower.  He vomits like Linda Blair every time he eats cauliflower but thanks to this book, he eats it a few times a week without knowing it.  No knowledge = no vomit.  WIN.  I generally make a menu for the week before I go grocery shopping.  This not only saves you money, but time too.  As a BUSY mom, I need all the time I can get.  The menu and grocery list take about 15 minutes to set up and then off to the store I go.  When I get home (and after I’ve put my groceries away), I begin the process of steaming and pureeing my vegetables for the entire week.  I generally have left over inventory from the week before so it generally involves steaming and pureeing 2-3 vegetables.  I’ve found that for my busy schedule, it is easiest to get frozen veggies to steam and puree than it is to clean, chop, and steam fresh veggies.  According to Dr. Oz, frozen veggies have more nutrients anyways!

I highly recommend that you run out and get this cookbook now.  RIGHT NOW.  DO IT!

Here’s the recipe for your oral-sensory pleasure:

Cinnamon Maple Quinoa

Prep: 20 min

Yield: 6 servings

Ingredients:

*1-1/4 cup water

*1 cup quinoa

*1 Tablespoon trans-fat-free soft tub margarine spread (I use Smart Balance)

*1/2 cup sweet potato puree*

*1 Tablespoon pure maple syrup

*1/3 cup skim milk

*1/4 teaspoon cinnamon (I usually throw in just a shake more)

*pinch of salt

*for garnish:  1 teaspoon maple syrup & 1 teaspoon chopped walnuts of almonds per serving

Directions:

1.  In a small saucepan, bring water to a boil.  Meanwhile, rinse the quinoa in cold water and strain (this is SUPER important, people).  Add the quinoa to the boiling water and reduce heat to a simmer.  Cook for 12 minutes, uncovered.  Remove the pot from the heat, cover and let sit for 5 minutes.

2.  In a separate pot, melt the margarine.  Stir in the sweet potato puree, 1 tablespoon of the maple syrup, milk, cinnamon, and salt.  When the quinoa has finished cooking, stir in the sweet potato mixture.

Top each serving with 1 teaspoon (or more) of maple syrup and 1 teaspoon (or more) of chopped almonds or walnuts.  Then dig in, close your eyes, and float away.  

Pure Oral Delight.


5 Responses to “My Favorite Breakfast: Cinnamon-Maple Quinoa”

  1. Emily @ Baby Dickey May 18, 2011 at 6:32 pm #

    omgosh, that looks really good, and I never would have come up with this recipe on my own, haha. thanks!

    • rebelcrunchmama May 18, 2011 at 7:40 pm #

      You’re welcome! I would never come up with it on my own either. I absolutely LOVE IT!

  2. Becca @ Mama B May 19, 2011 at 10:20 am #

    confession? I’ve NEVER had quinoa! I must try it, this looks amazing! Also? I love love love Deceptively Delicious. If the new book is just as awesomesauce as you say, I neeeeeeeed it. My 3yr old hates veggies and the only way he will eat them is if I trick him 😉

    • rebelcrunchmama May 19, 2011 at 1:51 pm #

      I want to get Deceptively Delicious! If that one is just as awesomesauce as this one, I definitely neeeeeeed that one too! 🙂 What do kids have against veggies? What did veggies ever do to THEM?

  3. Beth @ Me as a Mommy May 24, 2011 at 8:40 pm #

    Deceptively delicious is FANTASTIC. I have loved everything we’ve made out of it, and have really been debating buying this cookbook too. Decision made. Amazon cart updated and purchased!

Leave a Reply

