Bed Rest – Really Necessary?

27 Jan

“Bed Rest”. I think that these are two of the most feared words of all pregnant women. Many of us joke about how nice it would be to be sentenced to bed 24 hours a day/7 days per week; one long, uninterrupted nap sounds great doesn’t it?   But the fact of the matter is that bed rest is not only boring as all heck, it can be detrimental to a woman’s emotional and physical health.

I was sentenced to bed rest when I was 26 weeks pregnant with my darling daughter, lovingly nicknamed “P.I.T.A.” during my pregnancy with her. I was 50% effaced at that time, and her head was resting comfortably on my cervix. I was experiencing an immense amount of pressure “down there” and it felt like I was sitting on her head when I sat straight up. Really odd feeling. During my time on bed rest, I also had some bleeding issues but the blood was never coming from my cervix or my uterus, it was coming from my kidneys. I developed kidney stones and passed several grains. Apparently this is quite common in bed resting women.  My cervix grew to only 25% effaced by 30 weeks but my doctors kept me on bed rest, insisting that if I were to get up and move around that I would deliver a VERY pre-term baby. I was convinced that my body just works this way because I was 100% effaced and 1cm dilated by the time my doctor began checking me at 36 weeks when I was pregnant with my son 8 years prior. My new doctors weren’t convinced and they scared me into submission. Luckily for me, my mother-in-law was unemployed at the time and came over to take care of our house, our 7 yr old, and me, every single day of the week. She really saved me during that time. She cleaned, did laundry, and fed me. She picked my son up from school, entertained him, and made sure dinner was lined up for us. What she couldn’t do, was be my emotional crutch every waking moment. My husband was opening a new hotel and was working ridiculous hours as well as finishing his last semester of college. He was gone, on average, about 18 hours per day. When she left, I would immediately begin crying and I would cry, and cry, and cry, and cry until Kyle got home. I sometimes spent 7 hours straight crying my eyes out. I couldn’t explain my crying fits. I just DID. It just WAS. Aside from my mother-in-law, I had maybe 3 visitors the entire three months I was on bed rest. Maybe that had something to do with my crying fits. It wasn’t that I didn’t have friends, I had some great friends in Orlando. The fact was that bed rest was MY life, not theirs. They had lives of their own; children to care for, jobs to work, new boyfriends to entertain, businesses to start-up, schools to attend. People said they’d come but they never did. I don’t fault them for it now, I know that as my life had come to a screeching halt, theirs had continued on as normal. And why shouldn’t they? Their lives were the same, it was mine that had changed so drastically. Knowing that deep down in my heart didn’t ease the pain. It didn’t erase the fact that I felt alone, rejected, and broken; physically and emotionally. I ended up carrying my daughter to term. Rejoice all you want for me, I was ticked. I spent all that time trying to keep her in and when I was taken off of strict bed rest and placed on modified bed rest at 36 weeks, I still didn’t have her until she was 40 weeks gestation. All that crying and time on my back for WHAT?

This pregnancy, I was concerned that the same thing would happen. I spent the first 26 weeks of my pregnancy constantly worrying that I’d wind up on bed rest again with positive FFN tests and short cervix problems. 26 weeks came and I was doing perfectly fine. My cervix was a solid 5cm thick, which is GREAT! I was SO excited when I realized that every pregnancy truly is different and that this time I was going to be fine. That is, until 2 weeks later I wound up in the doctor’s office having the tell-tale cervical pressure that landed me on bed rest with the previous pregnancy. Sure enough, I had thinned out to about 25% effaced and was already 1cm dilated. The news rocked my world before the doctor could even talk. I began to cry, slipping back into a dark, dark place. But when my doctor opened her mouth to tell me my fate, it didn’t include strict bed rest. What she said was that more recent research shows that bed rest really has NO effect on whether or not a baby is going to be born early or not. She admitted to me that my time on bed rest with Madilyn was likely all in vain. She said that she wanted me to “take it easy” and for the sake of not having anything else to call it, she termed it “Modified Pelvic Rest”. My sentence was less like a high-security federal prison and more like being on parole. She did throw out my trip to the National Championship game (which we couldn’t have afforded anyways). She nixed our nightlife. She vetoed my vacuuming. She forbade me from lifting anything over 20 lbs. And she denied any more trips to Disney – just TOO much walking for one day. But she didn’t confine me to my bed, or even my house. She told me strolls in the park were fine. She said that light housework was fine. She simply told me to listen to my body and to keep myself hydrated and rested. She said that if I were producing the enzymes necessary to start pre-term labor, that I would go into labor whether or not I was on bed rest. The ONLY thing she would have done differently had my FFN come back positive this time, would be to give me a shot of steroids for the baby’s lungs, but my sentence would have never included “bed rest”. As we talked further she confided that often bed rest can be more detrimental for the mom and baby than beneficial. Kidney infections are rampant in bed-ridden women (I can attest to that), they tend to not be as hydrated (check), they suffer from depression that can affect the fetus negatively (debatable for me – Madilyn was PAINFULLY needy after birth), they are at risk for atrophied muscles (yep, as my knees scream in pain from my non-existent quad muscles), and according to her it really won’t make or break an early term labor (aaaaannd check).

I am SO, SO, SO thankful that my new doctor is up to date on her research. I would have absolutely bucked a “bed rest” prescription this pregnancy either way, but I didn’t have to and I can’t say enough how glad I am that she is a new doctor who is willing to embrace new ideas. I am beyond grateful that she trusts me enough as a patient to listen to my own body and decide when I’ve done too much for one day. It feels fantastic and empowering to have a doctor listen to me and to allow me to keep my pregnancy, largely, in my own hands. And I’ll say it again: I’m SO very thankful that she is up to date on her research. Her knowledge and education have perhaps saved me emotionally AND physically. I feel blessed to have found her, and I tell her that every time I see her.

If you’re on bed rest, talk to your doctor about the “new” findings (one study I found was from 2005, not really NEW information if you ask me). Take your own pregnancy, emotional, and physical health into your own hands. Connect with your body. Learn to listen to it and know when you’ve done too much. And never, EVER take what your doctor has to say without getting a second opinion; especially when the effects could be so detrimental. “When Mama ain’t happy, ain’t nobody happy“, believe me. I have suffered for the past year and a half with pretty serious depression but didn’t face it until very recently, and it all began when I was on bed rest.  I’ve struggled with very weak knees that threatened to blow out every time I stood up due to extremely weakened quads.  I’ve had two pregnancies with very similar issues in each. I am now 34 weeks pregnant, NOT on bed rest, and thriving. I fully believe the same thing could have been said during my pregnancy with Madilyn but I’ll never know. I’m now left to deal with the depression I acquired while on bed rest, all the while trying to raise two other kids and maintain “good wife” status while adjusting to life in a new state. While I may not be a doctor, I am an advocate for taking your health into your own hands. I firmly believe doctors all-too-often try to cover their asses in situations without considering the real problems at hand, the latest research, or the ill-effects of their medical advice.

I’ve included a few websites with more information on the new bed rest recommendations. Print them out and take them to your doctor. Take the initiative in your health. If you don’t agree with your doctor’s opinion or want a second one, GET ONE! Your doctor isn’t going to advocate for you; you have to.

Bed Rest May Not Be Helpful for Threatened Miscarriage

Bed Rest to Prevent Preterm Labor

Bed Rest For Pregnant Women May Be Harmful

Placenta Previa: Mamas on Bedrest, what it means when the placenta presents first.

Bed Rest May Not Help and It May Actually be Harmful

 

I’d love to hear your own bed rest stories or your own triumphs with pregnancies that were deemed high risk and then carried to term. If you have no choice but to be on bed rest or you decide that it really is best for you, make sure you connect with Keep Em Cookin.  It’s a fantastic resource for women on bed rest with lots of information on the signs of pre-term labor.

Good luck and healthy pregnancies to ALL!

 

10 Responses to “Bed Rest – Really Necessary?”

  1. Wolf_Mommy January 27, 2011 at 6:48 pm #

    I was off and on bedrest from the time I was about 8 weeks pregnant. It started with unexplained bleeding starting around 7 weeks. At 12 weeks I had a threatened miscarriage. By 18 weeks my cervix had shortened to as little as 1 cm with funneling and my amniotic fluid was low.

    I have what they call a “Dynamic Cervix”. It is severely misshapen. It shortens, then lengthens and if you could see it on an ultrasound, it would look like it was talking to you, that’s how it moves. And it was rapidly shortening. At 21 weeks it looked again like I would loose the baby. To make matters worse, at 26 weeks we discovered the baby had some developmental problems with his brain. I won’t load you down with all the details, but the gist of it is, if I could keep the baby inside as long as possible, there was a chance the baby’s condition would rectify itself, if I delivered early, there was a good chance the baby would die. NO PRESSURE! I went into labour several times, all were stopped in hospital. At 34 weeks I came extremely close to the point of no return, but again, they were able to pull me back. If you make it to the hospital soon enough, they are pretty good at stopping your labour. My biggest danger was premature rupture of the membranes (PROM) (my water braking prematurely). Because of the funneling shape of my dynamic, and rapidly shortening cervix, there was a serious concern that the membranes could sort of sucked into the funnel and punctured. Once your water breaks, its nearly impossible, and also quite dangerous to delay labour.

    My High Risk OB is fantastic. He has a relatively low C-Section rate for a HR-OB & he often works with midwives, allowing women to deliver as naturally and as supported as possible, even High Risk mommies! He and his nurse practitioner strongly spoke out against strict bedrest, except in the most extreme cases. They would put me on strict bedrest (often in-hospital where I got massage & physical therapy) only when we were “in the weeds”. The longest I was on “strict” bedrest was 1 week.

    I was often on “modified bedrest”. I was at home, I was to shower for 10-15 minutes every other day. I was to walk all the way down my stairs once a day in the morning, and all the way back up in the evening. I had to get up 3x per day and go to my kitchen & spend no more than 5 minutes preparing a snack or a drink. I could get up to answer the phone or the door, but I was not allowed (other than the shower) to be on my feet for more than 5 minutes at a time. I was instructed to slowly change position frequently when I was on the sofa or in bed, and sit frequently with my legs dangling off the sofa. I could leave the house if my walk was not more than 5 minutes to meet friends for tea or whatever. It was pretty much what it sounds like “modified”. I was on that most of my 3rd trimester, and a little bit of it in the 1st & 2nd.

    Other than that it was mostly “Pelvic Rest”. I was to stand for no more than 15 minutes straight, and I was to sit or lie down for at least 15 minutes after standing for 15 minutes. I could take short, gentle walks. I could fix a meal, but I had to sit down every 15 minutes or so, even if it was on a barstool-type chair. It actually rarely affected my lifestyle, I could still drive, take city transit (as long as someone gave me a seat!), I could attend classes, work, attend social functions, etc. The other restrictions were, no lifting of anything more than I could reasonably lift with my arms (which for me was about 10 lbs). No vacuuming. No sex, no orgasms (!), avoid sexual arousal if possible (it wasn’t an absolute, obviously), I was to avoid being startled (no sneaking up and yelling BOO!), there was other stuff, but it’s alot to remember now!

    During all of it I was to drink lots of fluids & go to the bathroom frequently (no problem there!) Eat a proper, well rounded diet with at least 500 extra calories per day. I got bi-weekly massage therapy and did leg exercises.

    I guess it would have been easier for my HR-OB to just tell me to be on “Bedrest” but I’m so glad he made all the extra effort to help me understand the different restrictions I had and when they were necessary. It was difficult enough to live with the restrictions I had, I would have died on total strict bedrest, and it WOULD have been unnecessary.

    As a nurse myself, I can tell you, bedrest is detrimental to the body. Immobility disrupts normal metabolic functioning by decreasing the metabolic rate. It alters how your body metabolizes carbs, fats & protiens. This causes fluid, electrolyte & calcium imbalances as well as gastrointestinal disturbances such as decreased appetite & slowing down your gut, which changes how your body receives nutrients from food. You can suffer weightloss, decreased muscle mass & weakness. The metabolic change causes your bones to release more calcium into circulation, this is why kidney stones are so common in bedrest patients.

    There is also danger to your heart. You are at high risk for orthostatic hypotension ( drop in blood pressure when you go from one position to another), increased cardiac workload (blood pooling) and thrombus (blood clot) formation.

    You can also have a strong effect on your musuloskeletal system, which can lead to osteoporosis, loss of endurance, decreased muscle mass and strength & joint instabliity.

    In addition to the dreaded kidney stones, your poor bladder is at increased risk of infection simply because it needs gravity to do some of the work. If you’re lying horizontal, gravity isn’t doing anything on that front. There are also numerous (serious) hazards to your skin and your psychosocial well being.

    So how can this be good for a pregnant woman or her developing fetus??? When it comes to medicine, you really have to weigh the risk-vs-benefit cost very carefully. It’s what your doctors and healthcare providers SHOULD be doing for you. Only in dire circumstances would the benefit of bedrest outweigh the risk for a pregnant woman. And even then, it should only be undertaken for short periods of time and under close medical supervision.

    As for me, my HR-OB took me off all restrictions at exactly 36 weeks. Later that night I had a premature rupture of the membranes and delivered my son Wolf 2 hours later, he was slightly premature, but he was healthy and normal. I strongly believe the modified bedrest, pelvic rest and extremely judicious use of “strict” bedrest allowed me to carry so close to term.

    I would strongly advise that anyone told to undergo bedrest should clarify specific parameters with their healthcare provider, understand the risks & benefits of alternatives, and if necessary, get a second opinion.

    • rebelcrunchmama January 27, 2011 at 7:03 pm #

      Thank you SO much for posting all of this. It’s awesome to get perspective from someone else who has a doctor who is TRULY proactive and not just putting someone on bed rest to cover their own butts. I also think it’s great that you’re in the health field and are able to speak from a professional perspective as well. I wish that I had been more passionate about advocating for my own health with my last pregnancy but unfortunately I was scared into submission and am suffering physically AND emotionally now.

      Congrats on your near-term baby boy (who is adorable, by the way). And again, thank you for sharing your very real bed rest/modified bed rest/pelvic rest story with us!

  2. 2bkate January 28, 2011 at 10:03 pm #

    thanks for writting this post!

  3. Ziggy January 29, 2011 at 4:37 pm #

    Great post, Summer. One of my best friends was on bed rest for the last 3 months of her pregnancy and it was really hard on her. This was a couple of years ago and since I was laid off, I spent several days a week at her house. I’d bring lunch and we’d watch her favorite tv shows or I would just lay in bed with her and talk and laugh. I know she put on a happy face when I was there and she kept reminding herself that it was best for the baby. Regardless of whether or not it would have made a difference, a mother’s absolute love and sacrifice for her child is to be admired.

    I don’t know how anyone could do it. I was under pretty strict restrictions after my surgery so I felt like I was on bed rest for 2 weeks and that just about drove me insane.

    Everyone is different and I agree – people should listen to their own bodies. Doctors have a lot to deal with every day. But they are not always up to speed on the latest and greatest. Kudos to you for encouraging women to get second opinions and listen to their own bodies. Amen and amen!!

  4. Hockey Wife January 31, 2011 at 3:43 pm #

    Abrasive? Really? Insensitive? You have got to be joking.

    I’ve never been on bed rest so I guess it’s impossible for me to see it from ‘their’ perspective but nothing about this seemed abrasive or insensitive. And every other sentences started with ‘I think’ … ‘I feel’ … ‘I experienced’.

    It seemed educated, well thought out, and it sounded like it came from the heart – from one mommy to all the other mommies out there. All you’ve said is to pay attention to your body and make sure that you get a second opinion if you aren’t sure about the first. Sounds like good advice to me. You never said bed-rest is absolutely not the answer for anyone … or that it’s wrong in ever case. Jeez.

    Wah-wah-wah … keep writing. Keep being honest. And true to who you are and how you feel. (most) People appreciate that, even if they might disagree with you now and again.

    • rebelcrunchmama January 31, 2011 at 8:44 pm #

      Thanks, HW! I appreciate the positive support, and knowing that an outside source didn’t think that it was insensitive. I tried to write from a place of honesty and absolute education. I even included a link to a bed rest support site…what else did I need to do to make it seem…SENSITIVE?! In any event, I stand by my stance that it is important to educate yourself where your health is concerned. I learned the hard way and I hope my journey can save at least one woman.

  5. Rachael May 1, 2011 at 10:57 pm #

    I was on bedrest for preeclampsia. I’m pretty sure it’s the only thing that kept me and my baby from dying, or at least from him having to be delivered waaaaaay sooner than the 38 weeks we made it to. I guess in some cases, bed rest is a good prescription. My bed rest was also left-sided only – so even worse than being confined to your bed? Confined on your left side so you are in constant pain and half handicapped! Yes!
    I also ended up in kidney failure at 38 weeks – so who knows that the bedrest was actually a good thing for me? I can tell you it was the only time my BP dropped to normal numbers – so it allowed my baby to grow, but I don’t know what all that bedrest did to my body.

    • rebelcrunchmama May 2, 2011 at 1:11 pm #

      Thank you so much for stopping by and commenting! I hope that during your next pregnancy (if you have more kids) you don’t have preeclampsia and that you don’t have to experience one single, solitary day on bed rest!

      • Rachael May 2, 2011 at 1:25 pm #

        hehe I’m actually 36.5 weeks along right now – so far no pre-e or bed rest! YIPPEE!!!! 🙂 Thanks!

      • rebelcrunchmama May 2, 2011 at 5:24 pm #

        YAY! Congrats on #2! You’re nearing the homestretch. Please come back and visit, I’d like to know how everything goes! 🙂

Leave a comment